Idea and Inspiration

At the beginning of the semester I chose the topic of undocumented immigrants, since it is a topic is very close to me. For this project I decided to narrate my story, the story of an undocumented immigrant and student.

Design Process & Technical Detail

I was somewhat influenced by the interview tutorial that we did for class with the radio recording of Edward R. Murrow. I liked the music for the intro, little to no music during, and then some sound to spice it up. My design process started with the decision to tell my story as a narration for the project. I came up with a script (written down to make it more fluent) and recorded myself reading it then recorded myself knocking on a door on a separate recording as suggested by the class readings. This was followed by finding royalty free music so that I wouldn’t get copyright struck. After opening audition I created a new multitrack session with the settings used for the tutorials. I proceeded to drag in the raw narration audio, raw knocking audio, and the music onto its own separate tracks. I began by dragging back the narration so that the music played for a few seconds before I started talking. I then, after muting the music and knocking tracks, proceeded to use the razor tool to make the narration more fluid and cut out the breathing during pauses as well as cut out portions in which I messed up and stumbled on words. Once I was happy with the narration I unmuted the knocking track, shortened it by dragging in the sides, and placed it to start right after I finished my narration with a slight pause for suspense. Finally, I unmuted the music track and faded in the beginning. I wanted ambient music during the narration so I lowered the volume right before the story started. I finished it by cutting off the music a few seconds after the knocking and fading out. Exporting the entire session was the last step.

Sources and Materials

In my story I used Cylinder Nine by Chris Zabriskie as ambient music. This was found on the Free Music Archive with an attribution license, under which I am free to share and adapt the music as long as I credit the creator.

http://freemusicarchive.org/music/Chris_Zabriskie/2014010103336111/Chris_Zabriskie_-_Cylinders_-_09_-_Cylinder_Nine

