Idea and Inspiration

For this project I decided to create a flyer, particularly to be used for a Facebook event page image. In what seems to be the far future I hope to get my Ph.D. and become a retention counselor focused on our undocumented college students. One way to bring awareness to a particular topic, particularly one with academic ties, is to have a talk in an open environment to broadcast your message. In such a way I could not only inform students about real issues surrounding undocumented students but also address any questions or concerns that they may have.

Design Process

I based my design on the memory I have from some of the real flyers the Chicano/Latino Center here at Washington State University has used in the past for such talks. I used a picture I took of the orchard I live next to for the background because a lot of immigrants here in Washington work in the agricultural industry. I then used the Monarch butterfly to represent migration itself, as this type of butterfly migrates yearly to Mexico and back. Butterflies are viewed by everyone as beautiful so in using it I hope to portray migration as beautiful. I also used a quote I made up on the spot to help get the point across to anyone viewing the flyer. Finally I included a portrait of myself since I would be the person giving the talk.

Technical Detail

I found the image of the butterfly online, knowing that it is often used as a symbol for migration. The portrait of me and the sunrise in the orchard were both pictures taken on my phone. When putting it all together I started by creating a custom layer, 200 pixels bigger in both length and with than the image of the orchard and painted the background a color similar to the butterfly. I centered the orchard image placed the butterfly near the sunrise, placed my portrait (flipped horizontal) on the bottom left and then put in the text. I felt that there was too much negative space in the bottom right so I used the magic wand to select the want black of the butterfly, change it to the background color, and then delete everything else.

One challenge I encountered during this process was making only the area surrounding the butterfly colored. I tried using a clipping mask but to no avail. I ended up duplicating the orchard and making the top black and white. I then used the elliptical marquee with a feather to select an area around the monarch and deleted it. This exposed the color of the layer underneath.

Sources and Materials

Monarch Butterfly by Peter Miller via Flickr

Monarch Butterfly

Portrait of Cesar Castaneda (me) by Salomon Martinez

Salomon is a personal friend and took this picture of me so I could use it as a head-shot for social media. He gave me permission to use it for these purposes as well.

