The status of being an undocumented student is one that is very meaningful to me; I myself am an undocumented student. I was born in Mexico and was brought to the United States by my parents at the age of 2. I have spent these last 19 years living here; Washington is my home, my life is here. However, with Donald Trump’s new presidency, all that I know and love is in jeopardy. The day that President Obama signed the Deferred Action for Childhood Arrival, my life changed for the better. Suddenly I was able to work with a valid Social Security number. The far-off dream of going to college suddenly became a possibility.

I did my best in high school, graduating salutatorian with a 3.957 GPA. This opened up the opportunity for me to get not only admitted to Washington State University but also receive enough financial aid to attend college. Coming to college, however, was a different story. Being a first generation college student was difficult enough but having limited resources still set me back and discouraged me from going outside of my comfort zone. I would go to class, eat, and play video games. It wasn’t until this last year that I found a group of individuals that I really connected to; those individuals that form the Crimson Group here at Washington State University.

The Crimson Group is an activist support group for undocumented students and allies. They have become my family away from home. Through the Crimson Group I have learned to stand up and fight for what is important to me; my right to an education where I want it. In these trying times, they are the ones that keep me going, head held high. Being undocumented is something that deeply affects me and is part of who I am but I have learned to use this label to empower myself rather than let it be a hindrance. That is why I have chosen “Undocumented Student” as my topic.

